Workgroup member photo

Erlend Kvaal


​Erlend Kvaal was appointed EFRAG TEG Member in January 2020 and he is the Chair of the EFRAG Academic Panel.

He is a professor of accounting at BI Norwegian Business School and holds PhD in economics.

Erlend has been active in accounting standard setting since 1998, and since 2005 he has been chairing the technical committee of the Norwegian Accounting Standards Board until 2017.

Prior to his academic career, Erlend was a civil servant in the Norwegian public administration. 1985 – 1990 he served at the Central Bank of Norway with responsibilities for capital controls and the deregulation of these. 1990 – 1998 he was at the Ministry of Finance, dealing with financial market regulation, banking crisis and pension reform.

In 2014, Erlend was appointed by the Norwegian government to head a committee that will make proposal for a new accounting legislation.

End of term: March 2021


EFRAG Academic Panel

​The EFRAG Academic Panel was established in 2017 as a response to the increased importance of research activities for the IASB and EFRAG. The Panel consists of 17 academics specialised in financial reporting (including IFRS) and knowledgeable in different aspects and topics specifically relevant to Europe.

The objective of the Panel, which supports EFRAG’s Technical Expert Group (EFRAG TEG) is to contribute to the debate on relevant topics by providing suggestions on:

• relevant research projects;
• the scopes of EFRAG research projects;
• research methodologies;
• research tenders; and
• research papers sponsored or prepared by EFRAG.

The Panel meets physically twice a year and is part of the wider EFRAG Academic Network.

IASB members and staff are also invited to participate as observers as part of the IASB outreach activities.

Name Job title
Erlend Kvaal Chairman
Paul André HEC Université de Lausanne
Richard Barker Oxford University
Véronique Blum Université Grenoble Alpes
Kees Camfferman Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Joachim Gassen Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Günther Gebhardt Honorary Member
Niclas Hellman Stockholm School of Economics
Ann Jorissen Universiteit Antwerpen
Irene Karamanou University of Cyprus, Nikosia
Andrea Lionzo Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore Milan
Araceli Mora Universidad de Valencia
Roberto di Pietra Università di Siena
Lucia Maria Portela de Lima Rodrigues Universidade do Minho, Braga
Thorsten Sellhorn Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Frank Thinggaard Aarhus Universitet
Alfred Wagenhofer Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz