EFRAG General Assembly

Role of the EFRAG General Assembly

Alongside fulfilling the legal requirements under the Belgian law for international associations and deciding over the statutes, internal rules and membership of EFRAG, the EFRAG General Assembly is in charge of:

  • Approving the financial statements and the budget of next year
  • Appointing the President, Vice-President and members of the Board. The President of the Board is nominated by the European Commission after having heard the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament;
  • Appointing the members of the European Lab Steering Group
  • Exercising general oversight over the Board, whilst respecting the Board's exclusive responsibility for the positions taken on all financial reporting matters and over the European Lab Steering Group.

Please refer to the legal section for the comprehensive texts of the EFRAG by-laws (Statutes and Internal Rules).

back to top
Composition of the General Assembly

The EFRAG General Assembly is composed of all EFRAG Member Organisations. Current membership of EFRAG is detailed below:

European Stakeholder Organisations

Accountancy ​Europe​​

BusinessEurope European Business Federation
EACB European Association of Co-operative Banks
EBF European Banking Federation
ESBG European Savings and Retail Banking Group
EFAA European Federation of Accountants and Auditors for SMEs
EFFAS European Federation of Financial Analysts Societies​
Insurance Europe​European Insurance Federation


National Organisations

Austrian Group of Standard Setters​
Grouping of five Danish organisationsDenmark
Autorité des Normes comptables (ANC)
Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG)Germany
Organismo Italiano di Contabilità (OIC)Italy
Commission des Normes comptables (CNC)Luxembourg
Dutch Accounting Standards Board (DASB)The Netherlands
​​Instituto de Contabilidad y Auditoria de Cuentas (ICAC)
The Association for Generally Accepted Principles in the Securities MarketSweden


The EFRAG General Assembly Nominating Committee assists the EFRAG General Assembly in fulfilling its responsibility for appointing members of EFRAG Board and facilitates and coordinates the nomination process of the EFRAG Board. The composition of the Committee is as follows:

  • Jean-Paul Gauzès, EFRAG Board President - Chair
  • Olivier Boutellis-Taft (Accountancy Europe)
  • Stig Enevoldsen (Grouping of five Danish organisations)​
  • Alberto Giussani (OIC)
  • Olav Jones (Insurance Europe)
  • Claes Norberg (BusinessEurope)
  • Peter Sampers (DASB)
  • Nina Schindler (EACB)​
  • Goran Tidström (Swedish Association for Generally Accepted Principles in the Securities Market)


back to top