Workgroup member photo

Carsten Zielke

Zielke Research Consult GmbH

Between July 1992 and April 1993 Carsten was a trainee with Centrale de Bilans of Banque de France, Paris where he worked on the development of valuation criteria of exporting companies for an expert system.

From July 1994 until June 1997 he worked as a Consultant with Associés en Finance, Paris and was in charge of the Implementation of Security Market Line models at Zürcher Kantonalbank and HSBC Trinkaus.

Carsten then spent 10 years as Chief Analyst Insurance at WestLB in Düsseldorf, managing a team of 4 analysts and 1 assistant in charge of analysing Allianz, CNP and special insurance topics. He specialised in Asset Liability and accounting issues and was nominated Deputy Head of Research in July 06.

From 2008 to 2012, he worked for Société Générale as Senior Insurance ALM analyst/ Managing Director.

In 2012, he founded and became the Managing Director of Zielke Research Consult GmbH in Aachen, which is specialized in analysing and consulting insurance companies in asset-liability-management, regulatory and accounting issues.

Carsten is a former EFRAG TEG Member who served for the maximum of 6 years from 2006 until 2012. Since his mandate of EFRAG TEG Member terminated, Carsten has been the Vice-Chairman of EFRAG User Panel and Observer of the EFRAG Technical Expert Group. He has remained a Member of the EFRAG Insurance Accounting Working Group.


EFRAG Insurance Accounting Working Group (EFRAG IAWG)

The Insurance Accounting Working Group (EFRAG IAWG) provides support to EFRAG TEG on insurance related financial reporting issues. Members of the Group have considerable expertise in insurance accounting and more generally in IFRS issues and practice. The frequency of meetings of the Group depends on the issues on the agenda. The group is supported by members of the EFRAG Secretariat.

The European Commission and the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the International Credit Insurance & Surety Association (ICISA), the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), Insurance Europe, the Association of Mutual Insurers and Insurance Cooperatives in Europe (AMICE), and the reinsurance industry have been granted observer status.

IASB members and staff are also invited to participate as observers as part of the IASB outreach activities.

The terms of reference of the Working Group can be found here.

The current Members of the EFRAG IAWG are (please click on Members' names to view their profiles):

Name Job title
Carsten Zielke Zielke Research Consult GmbH
Matteo Brusatori Insurance industry (EY)
Cardi Van Capelle NN Group
Alexander Dollhopf Actuary (PwC)
Luca D'Onofrio EFFAS FAC member - AIAF Board Member
Hugh Francis Insurance industry (Aviva)
William Hawkins Insurance Industry (Keefe, Bruyette & Woods)
Joachim Kolschbach Auditor (KPMG)
Jasper Kolsters Auditor (Ernst&Young)
Malin Lofbom Insurance Industry (Skandia)
Sophie Massol Insurance Industry (AXA)
Richard Olswang Insurance industry (Prudential)
Jean Michel Pinton Insurance industry (EY)
Sabrina Pucci Academic (Rome University)
Thomas Ringsted Auditor and Actuary (Deloitte)
Roman Sauer Insurance Industry (Allianz)
Cedric Tonnerre Mazars
Massimo Tosoni Insurance industry (Generali)
Gail Tucker Auditor (PwC)