Workgroup member photo

Ambrogio Virgilio


Ambrogio joined EY Italy in 1980. Currently he is an Assurance Partner of EY and leads the EY's FSO Financial Assurance Advisory Services (FAAS) in Italy. Ambrogio is IFRS Desk leader in EY Italy and is a certified "Dottore Commercialista" and "Revisore Contabile".

During his career he has served as lead engagement partner on a number a public interest entities in various industries including Banking, Insurance and Assets management.
In his current role, Ambrogio focusses on working with clients in an advisory capacity and supports the audit practice on continuous technical advice on IFRS matters as part of the consultation process required by professional standards.

Author of several publications, articles and technical papers covering IFRS matters and financial reporting. Ambrogio is Contract Professor at Turin University (Italy). 

End of term: March 2021.


EFRAG Insurance Accounting Working Group (EFRAG IAWG)

The Insurance Accounting Working Group (EFRAG IAWG) provides support to EFRAG TEG on insurance related financial reporting issues. Members of the Group have considerable expertise in insurance accounting and more generally in IFRS issues and practice. The frequency of meetings of the Group depends on the issues on the agenda. The group is supported by members of the EFRAG Secretariat.

The European Commission and the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the International Credit Insurance & Surety Association (ICISA), the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), Insurance Europe, the Association of Mutual Insurers and Insurance Cooperatives in Europe (AMICE), and the reinsurance industry have been granted observer status.

IASB members and staff are also invited to participate as observers as part of the IASB outreach activities.

The terms of reference of the Working Group can be found here.

The current Members of the EFRAG IAWG are (please click on Members' names to view their profiles):

Name Job title
Ambrogio Virgilio EFRAG IAWG Chairman; EFRAG TEG Member
Carsten Zielke Zielke Research Consult GmbH
Alexander Dollhopf Actuary (PwC)
Luca D'Onofrio EFFAS FAC member - AIAF Board Member
Geert Ewalts EFRAG TEG Member
Hugh Francis Insurance industry (Aviva)
William Hawkins Insurance Industry (Keefe, Bruyette & Woods)
Joachim Kolschbach Auditor (KPMG)
Jasper Kolsters Auditor (Ernst&Young)
Malin Lofbom Insurance Industry (Skandia)
Sophie Massol Insurance Industry (AXA)
Richard Olswang Insurance industry (Prudential)
Jean Michel Pinton Insurance industry (EY)
Sabrina Pucci Academic (Rome University)
Thomas Ringsted Auditor and Actuary (Deloitte)
Roman Sauer Insurance Industry (Allianz)
Cedric Tonnerre Mazars
Massimo Tosoni Insurance industry (Generali)
Gail Tucker Auditor (PwC)